Mmmm, Pie…

For Poker Night tonight, a strawberry/peach glace pie.

pie

This reminds me of one of my favorite points noted by Adam Corrola – why do we have wedding cakes?  Doesn’t everyone get more excited about pie than cake?  For your birthday, fine, a cake – you have one of those every year.  But your wedding?  Ideally, a once-in-a-lifetime experience…wouldn’t you want pie for that?

At my friend Mike’s wedding they had 5 or 6 different cheesecakes for diners to choose from, and, despite its name, cheesecake is really a sort of pie.  Brilliant!

2 Responses to Mmmm, Pie…

  1. Tripp says:

    Dave, if you had been at my wedding you would have gotten to eat cake baked by one Leonardo Smith. Leonardo was a fabulous chef and the cake that he baked for me and Gillie (Leonardo was a long time friend of Gillie’s) was nothing short of orgasmic. It’s the best dessert that I’ve every eaten. Perhaps he could have made us a pie of similar quality. Sadly we’ll never know, as he decided to “unass this earthly AO” two years ago. He’s missed by a lot of folks.

    I suppose the only proper way to settle it is to have some sort of bake off. I’ll bring the floor pie!

  2. Lisa says:

    That looks really yummy!! Can I get the recipe?!?! ;)

Leave a Reply

