David Foster Wallace

I am not a literary junkie – I tend to be much more interested by nonfiction than by literature.  So I didn’t know much about David Foster Wallace, thus have very little to say about his suicide last weekend.

However, so many bloggers who I read and respect were singing his praises, that I did go out and read some of his journalism, and I have to say that if I were a much, much better writer than I am, I still could not have come anywhere close to writing anything resembling his magnificent piece in the New York Times in 2006 singing the praises of the tennis Roger Federer.

Beauty is not the goal of competitive sports, but high-level sports are a prime venue for the expression of human beauty. The relation is roughly that of courage to war.

Take yourselves 20 minutes, and go read the whole thing.  You will be a better person for having done so.

Leave a Reply

