Today (OR In Memoriam)

Seven years ago today, I was living in a bubble. Not literally, of course, but I was very disconnected from the world. I had a job at a company which completely restricted internet access, making it really hard to find out what was happening in the world. I showed up to work that day and listened to the terrible events of that day on the radio.

It wasn’t until I saw Farenheit 9/11 years later that I actually saw footage of that day. So, yeah, I was in a bubble. That makes it more difficult, I think, to commemorate this day. So, I’m going to outsource that to Claire, who said this in a comment this morning:

And since it is the 11th of September today, I’d like to pause for a moment and remember: all of the people who died when the towers collapsed, died when planes were hijacked, died in the resulting military actions against Iraq, and those who died as a result of health complications from the amount of crap spewed into the air in NYC after the towers were destroyed. Finally, those who have had to live, raise a family, and/or work in the area around the towers with the constant reminder of what happened that day either by the absence of a loved one or the visible ruins, while at the same time seeing day in and day out just how little the administration cares for their welfare when 9/11 is dragged out and used as an excuse for someone’s pet project. For all those people, living and dead, you haven’t been forgotten.

Leave a Reply

