USA! USA!

Can I just say, I really and honestly thought that the whole chanting ‘USA!  USA!  USA!’ thing had long-since passed into the realm of ironic kitsch.  At the latest, I would have thought that it happened at about the time that Hacksaw Jim Duggan started doing it while toting a 2×4 around the WWF ring.  Amazingly, I just learned from Wikipedia that he’s still doing it!  How amazing is that?

Anyhow, it boggles my mind that this is considered an actual expression of – what?  Patriotism?  I love my country as much as the next guy, at least I think so, but I really think that chanting its name loudly and repetitively does not show my love, so much as, well, idiocy.

2 Responses to USA! USA!

  1. Shane says:

    Either it’s Olympic hangover, or shallow minded people who can’t understand that patriotism isn’t just what you say.

    Or, as C. just said “It’s like they’re mindless drones”

  2. Jim says:

    P claims that the “USA” chants were actually a (reasonably clever) way to drown out the random protesters that had made their way in (before they were dragged out and subjected to Water Polo’ing.)

Leave a Reply

