Damn Lies (OR Do people really believe this stuff?)

Marc Ambinder also points out this trashy, unfounded, underhanded ad from the McCain campaign. I’m not going to embed it here…  but here’s the transcript:

Script For “Pump” (TV :30)

ANNCR: Gas prices – $4, $5, no end in sight, because some in Washington are still saying no to drilling in America.

No to independence from foreign oil.

Who can you thank for rising prices at the pump?

CHANT: Obama, Obama

ANNCR: One man knows we must now drill more in America and rescue our family budgets.

Don’t hope for more energy, vote for it. McCain.

JOHN MCCAIN: I’m John McCain and I approve this message.

There’s so much in here that’s just crazy…  The implication that drilling for oil in America will defray the cost of gas, which Sen. McCain himself has said would only have psychological impact…  That drilling in America would create independence from foreign oil, which could only really be accomplished if we stop using any oil… That Sen. Obama is in some way responsible for the current prices, even though he’s only the junior senator from Illinois.

And I love that voting for Sen. McCain is analogous to voting for more energy, even though Sen. Obama is the candidate who has touted his support for alternative energies like solar and wind, while Sen. McCain can’t get past his oil fetish.

Anyway, it’s clear now that Sen. McCain has absolutely no compunction about making crap up to get elected. I think we all knew this was coming, but I’m a little surprised the it’s happening in July. What will be left for Sen. McCain to make up come October?

In other news, Sen. McCain’s ad campaign is going to make me rethink my usage of the candidates titles in my posts.

3 Responses to Damn Lies (OR Do people really believe this stuff?)

  1. Jenny says:

    The Obama campaign came back immediately with a rebuttal ad. It was expectedly tame, as his his want, but I really wanted it to say:

    “John McCain is blaming high gas prices on Barack Obama? Come ON! Are you stupid enough believe this crap? This is Barack Obama and I approve this message.”

    Everytime I see the add I expect it to say that. Come ON!

  2. AlexM says:

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

  3. AlexM says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

