Re-Starting (OR Finding motivation)

I’ve talked a little about my dwindling enthusiasm for constantly reacting and responding to the goings on in the world. I can’t say that much has changed… although, it seems that some of that apathy was the result of various other disenchantments in my life.

First and foremost, my job. I haven’t said much about it, and that won’t change. But, as of Tuesday next week, I won’t work there anymore. This is a good thing. I’ve taken a new job, which promises to be challenging, and I love me a good challenge. :)

This job change is going to have a couple real-world impacts for me…  first, I probably won’t be able to take public transit to work anymore. Fortunately, I have an efficient car that will still cost less to drive than to buy an RTD pass. Still, I’d prefer to take pubic transit, but the limitations of RTDs system make it highly inefficient to travel by bus between home and work.

On a related note, Marketplace on Tuesday included a story about GM’s investment in an infrastructure that could support electric cars. This is a good thing, especially on the heels of Al Gore’s challenge to us. Still, GM engineer Britta Gross said:

This has the potential to get you 40 miles. That’s really great to know that you can do your commute on just electric drive. It has an energy storage capability and it’s going to be a much more affordable battery.

The same story notes “the Volt will still cost $30-40,000.”

Is it just me, or is this the equivalent of saying that 35 mpg is impressive? Compare this to the Th!nk city, which claims to be able to go 110 miles per charge and will be available in Europe for $31,388 USD.

Anyway, the new job thing…  the other impact is that I need to shop for health insurance. My employer doesn’t have a group policy, so I’m headed out into the individual market for insurance. My initial forays are not really encouraging. All the plans seem the same, and don’t really provide any sort of reassurance that your health care costs will be controlled. Now, this probably isn’t any different than the insurance I have now, but now I know it, and even in this wonderful “free market” I have no choice.

Even worse, I stumbled across this site. It has responses to satisfaction surveys for health insurers in Colorado. Go ahead. Take a look. Tell me how many companies you have to look at before you find one with more positive feedback than negative.

Anyway, I’m hoping the new job will re-energize me so I’ll be more inclined to blog here. The downside, of course, is that the new job probably won’t allow me nearly as much time to actually blog here.

Well, we’ll see. For now, I’m happily suffering from short-timer’s syndrome. :)

Leave a Reply

