Let’s Give ‘Em Somethin’ To Talk About

I must admit, I’m feeling a bit of the same ennui that Shane expressed over the weekend.  It just feels like a dead time.  No great sports stories, we’re in the heart of the political desert between the end of the primaries and the conventions.  There have certainly been some important stories, but somehow it just feels like a lot of hot air.  Repetitive hot air at that.

But that’s no excuse for failing to bring you, Faithful Reader, the type of insightful and fascinating content that you’ve come to expect from the Damn Lefties, and I promise that this will be a week of Topics Worth Talking About.

However, the week typically starts with Monday.  So, for today, you get more information about the most important topic I know about – me!

Firstly, it occurs to me that, after one week, I failed in my weekly landscaping updates.  Rest assured, Faithful Reader, that work continued despite the lack of an update.

As we saw two weeks ago, my bamboo garden fence was nearly ready to be set up.  Here it looks, mostly finished:

Still a little work to be done, and it certainly needs some decoration around the outside.  I hope to put some decorative grasses or low shrubs in front of it, but that’s almost certainly a job for next year.

Second up, some de-weeding.  Here’s what the left half of the back yard looks like right now:

Okay, it still needs some work.  And, by ‘some’, I mean, ‘a shitload.’  But it’s a lot better than when those 3-foot-tall weeds were planted in the dirt, I think.

Next up is starting to re-lay the sprinkler system in the front yard, turning it from a pop-up system to underground drip irrigation…

2 Responses to Let’s Give ‘Em Somethin’ To Talk About

  1. Shane says:

    I think I need to disagree with “no great sports stories”…

    I don’t think there’s much to say about it, but it is worth recognizing that the Wimbledon Gentleman’s Singles final yesterday was an absolutely phenomenal match between two absolutely incredible tennis players.

    I’m sure there will be many stories about the ascendancy of Rafael Nadal, but to me, that really just obscures the absolute quality of the match he and Federer played against each other…

  2. […] Shane comments on the most obvious story, at least to me, which is Rafael Nadal’s victory over Roger Federer in yesterday’s 6+ hour epic Wimbledon final.  There’s so much to say about this match, and, in other ways, not that much to say at all.  For years, I have enjoyed watching Federer play, especially at Wimbledon.  His grace, the way he always seems to be in place two steps before the ball gets there.  I didn’t really have a chance to see the great serve-and-volleyers, like McEnroe, play at their peak, but I think Federer comes close.  At the same time, it’s been a joy watching Nadal come on the scene.  His game is more power than grace, more speed than balance, more evolutionary than throwback.  Plus, check out these guns: […]

Leave a Reply

