What I’m Doing Now

It’s been a while since I wrote a personal update here about some of the things going on in my life, and I’m realizing that this is kind of inexcusable, especially with regards to some of the specifics.

The biggest news is that, 3 weeks ago this Friday, we had a big set of layoffs at my company.  Big, as in roughly 50% of the employees as of 8 AM Friday did not have a job as of 4 PM.  I was kind of hesitant about writing about it right away, but then it appeared in the Paper of Record, the Longmont Times-Call, so I’m less worried about doing so now.

The reasons behind the layoffs were pretty simple.  Basically, the Board is concerned that we aren’t going to be able to overcome some of the technical issues facing us going forward.  Now, how exactly the act of firing many of the people who were working on those technical issues, including every manager who actually knew the ground-level information of what was going on, will help us overcome them is a piece of intellectual ju-jitsu that escapes me.  But, hey, that’s why the Board members get paid the big bucks, right?

In the meantime, it’s been a pretty tough time at work.  We’re divided up into 5 teams, each tasked with tackling and making progress on one of those significant technical problems.  The time frame to do so is roughly until mid-August.  But, really, a lot of people seem to still be wandering around, without a really good idea of what their actual job is under the new regime.  I, fortunately, am not one of them.  But, the seriously slowed-down pace of work since the layoffs has meant that I seem to be spending an awful lot of time not having a whole heck of a lot to do.

So, I’ve been catching up on my reading at work, keeping up on the good sports and political gossip online, and generally wasting a lot of time.  Not the worst thing imaginable, but it also is leaving me feeling very demotivated about the concept of working very hard.  I know that I am not the only person who feels this way, and I know I’m not the only survivor of the layoffs who is polishing up his resume and starting to job-hunt.

So, if you know of any job openings for young, successful, tech geek types looking to work hard and make an absolute shit-ton of money, please feel free to let me know about it.

In the meantime, I’m trying to take some of that mental energy that I’m not putting towards work, and putting it into my landscaping instead.  Inspired by Will Wilkinson’s oft-repeated story on Bloggingheads that he once gave a roommate $500 cash, with instructions only to return it to him if he finished an assignment by 8 AM the following morning, I will be using a slightly different reward structure to try and inspire me to keep working on my yard.

Instead of offering you, my Faithful Readers, a cash reward (because really – I can’t afford to pay every single one of the millions dozens of you in cash), I will instead be trading in something much more…ineffable, if equally important.  Your esteem for me.  Here’s how it works.  I will post a picture, hopefully tomorrow, of the federally-funded disaster area that is my yard.  Once a week, each Sunday, I will be obligated to post a new picture, showing what improvements I have made in the meantime.  Or, alternatively, I better have a damn good reason why I didn’t do anything since the last time I posted.

If I fail to do so, or fail to have an adequate excuse for it, I give you permission, nay, I demand that you belittle me and call me silly names.  The future value of my home depends on you, Faithful Readers.  Please, don’t let it down.

2 Responses to What I’m Doing Now

  1. Shane says:

    See? This is why we co-blog… when I get super busy at work, you’re twiddling your thumbs… Although, for a thumb twiddler, your post volume has been a bit lacking. :)

    In other news, your self motivation scheme is really ambitious… not because it will require a decent amount of landscaping work… but because it will require you to post on Sundays.

  2. Michelle says:

    Sorry to hear that. If you’d like advice on how to deal with layoffs, feel free to ask me, as I’m working in one of the most cyclical industries on the planet:

    Big product just went off patent? Must be time to reorg.

    Filed a blockbuster… er. huge volume product (we don’t call the “blockbusters” anymore, since it’s insensitive to mix profits and pharmaceuticals)…then go build a new shiny glass corporate headquarters.

Leave a Reply

